News & EventsNews & Event updates from Wainui Surf Life Saving Club

Louis Birkhead awarded 2018 Club Person of the Year

12 May 2018 Posted by Sonia Keepa

Wainui Members came together this afternoon to celebrate an awesome season for the end of year Prize Giving. Acknowledging success, contribution and excellence from our under 5’s to our national achieving sport athletes through to life saving achievements and club involvement.

Salve Zame, Club Chair, kicked off the formalities referring to how far the club has come and what a fantastic community we have and serve. From our core of Life Saving to serve our community by keeping our beaches safe to the hard work that our sport athletes put in, the volunteer commitment from so many that make our club the nurturing environment that it is.

Guest speaker and Club member Laura Quilter spoke about Culture and Values, sharing what she has learnt in her years at elite level High Performance sport. Laura shared stories and experiences of her time as a Black Fin, highlighting the importance of having fun and enjoying yourself, remembering where you’ve come from and the ups and downs it takes to get to where you want to go.

Geoff Thorpe spoke of the secret of success, Quoting James A Baldwin, “Talent is insignificant. I know a lot of talented ruins. Beyond talent lie all the usual words: discipline, love, luck, but, most of all endurance”. Speaking of his proud involvement with the club Geoff commented that, “Talent on its own will only get you so far, it’s the hard work that goes in, often what nobody sees that results in achievements such as we have seen tonight”, that is the endurance.

Head Coach and Club Captain,  Dion Williams, was stoked with how everyone fronts up and commits with the best attitudes and what an unreal culture has been created from the parents right through to the kids on the beach.

Congratulations to all award winners, in Particular to Louis Birkhead receiving both the Life Guard of the Year and the Club Person of the year award for his outstanding and phenomenal commitment across all areas of club life. Alongside his personal development and growth, Louis put his hand up for many courses to further himself as a life guard and official using those skills to give back where and when needed whilst also maintaining his surf sport training and competition commitments.

Jack Keepa at only 14 received Club Sports Person of the Year, the youngest to win this award following a massive year of achievements across a wide range of disciplines from Pool Rescue Events, mini endurance & multi discipline events, Oceans and Nationals.

2017/18 Season Award winners:

Club Person of the Year – Louis Birkhead

Sports Person of the Year – Jack Keepa

Life Guard of the Year – Louis Birkhead

Patrol Person of the Year – Matt Logan

Emerging Lifeguard of the year – Ben Hutchings

SLA  - Jovan Potter, Ben Barker, Hannah King, Ava Smith, Leah Schofield, Sam Meban, Ben Hutchings, Jonty Evans, Jack Keepa

Crewman’s Award – Luke Whibley

Senior Lifeguard IRB Award – Louis Birkhead, Luke Whibley

Senior Sport Awards

Swim Cup Male – Jack Keepa

Swim Cup Female – Abby Logan

Board Cup Male – Jack Virtue

Board Cup Female – Ava Smith

Ski Cup Male – Louis Birkhead

Iron Cup Female – Ava Smith

Iron Cup Male – Louis Birkhead

Canoe Cup – Opens/Masters Womens team Anelia Evans, Moira Lee, Sophie Burns, Carolyn Hodgkinson

IRB Team Cup – IRB Open Crew – Yannis Kokkosis, Mitch Brady, Katie Kirkpatrick

Oceans Awards

U14 Sports Male – Jack Keepa

U14 Sports Female – Imogen Amor Bendall

Most Improved Male – Jonty Evans

Most Improved Female – Ella Arthur

Waterman Award – Jack Keepa

Shot Bro for team spirit, effort and grit – Maggie Preston

Nippers Awards

Most Improved

U5 Moana Fukushima-Hall

U6/7 Isabelle Evans

U8/9 GP Singh

U10 Paloma Ryan

U11/12 Omanaia Harrington

U13/14 Arapeta Peachy

Energy and Enthusiasm

U5 Emma Venter

U6/7 Abhnay Singh

U8/9 Jack Long

U10 Sofie and Tasmin Dons

U11/12 Omahia Harrington

U13/14 Alice Lofving

Good Sport

U5 Donnie Thomas

U6/7 Filip Lofving

U8/9 Lela Watters

U10 Charlie Keepa

U11/12 Hannah Webb

U13/14 Theo Weathlery