Junior SurfWainui Junior Surf season this year will run from 11 November 2018 until 17 March 2019.

There will be a short break over the Christmas period. The last Sunday of Junior Surf for 2018 will be 23 December, we will resume on Sunday 6 January 2019. Sunday morning sessions will run from 10 – 11am.

The NZSLS Junior Surf Programme is designed for young people aged 7-14 years of age, but here at Wainui we have extended the age to include all family members.

This season will see the introduction of achievement levels within our Junior Surf programme to provide a managed pathway for children to gain confidence in the surf and lead towards a framework of skill acquisition and mastery of key stages and progressions. This guides our juniors towards the Surf Lifeguard Award.

The wellbeing and safety or our Juniors, Club members and community is paramount. Please ensure your child reports to their Age Group Leader on arrival to the beach. It is a mandatory requirement that we must have 1 adult for every 5 juniors – if it is not obtained we will be unable to enter the water.  Parental assistance is crucial!! Please enjoy and engage in our sessions, if not as a leader, helper or water safety then your eyes on our Juniors will help keep them safe.

The 200 metre Swim Standard must be obtained by any Junior wishing to participate in advanced water activities, competitions or use a foam or fibreglass paddle board whether that be U10, Intermediate Surf or as part of the Oceans Training Squad. The 200 metre swim qualification must be refreshed at the start of every season.

Junior Surf Events Calendar
NOVEMBER 2018

November 2018

Saturday 10 November – Club Fundraiser – Monster Garage Sale 7am

Sunday 11 November - Club Open Day 10am

Sunday 18 November – Wainui Nippers 10-11am

Sunday 25 November – Olympic Pool, Achievement Level Awards & Water Skills, 10am start

 

DECEMBER 2018

Sunday 2 December – Wainui Nippers 10-11am

Saturday 8 December – Waikanae Nipper/Junior Surf Carnival, Waikanae SLSC 8:30am

Sunday 9 December – Wainui Nippers 10-11am

Sunday 16 December – Wainui Nippers 10-11am

Sunday 16 December – BOP Junior Champs, Omanau 8am (u8-u14 Juniors interested in Competitive Surf)

Sunday 23 December – Wainui Junior Surf Christmas Breakup, fun games and BBQ 10-11:30am

JANUARY 2019

Sunday 6 January - Wainui Nippers 10-11am

Sunday 13 January - Wainui Nippers 10-11am

Wednesday 16 January – WAINUI JUNIOR TWILIGHT CARNIVAL & Sunset Series #1, 5pm

Sunday 20 January - Wainui Nippers 10-11am

Sunday 27 January - Wainui Nippers 10-11am

FEBRUARY 2019

Fri 1 – Sat 2 February – Gisborne Junior Champs, Midway SLSC (U8 – U14)

Sunday 3 February - Wainui Nippers 10-11am

Sunday 10 February - Wainui Nippers 10-11am

Wednesday 13 February – Junior Sunset Series (U11-U14) #2, Midway 5pm

Sat 16 - Sun 17 February - Eastern Region Junior Champs, Whangamata SLSC, BOP (U8 - U14)

Sunday 17 February - Wainui Nippers 10-11am

Sunday 24 February - Wainui Nippers 10-11am

Wednesday 27 February – Junior Sunset Series (U11-U14 #3, 5pm Midway

MARCH 2019

Sunday 3 March - Wainui Nippers 10-11am

Thurs 7 - Sun 10 March – SLSNZ Junior Nationals, Oceans 18, Mt Maunganui

Sunday 7 March – Wainui Nippers 10-11am

Sunday 17 March – Wainui Junior Surf Season Break up, Fun Race Day, BBQ and celebration

Thursday 21 - Sunday 24 March – SLSNZ Nationals, Mt Maunganui

UNIFORM, OCEANS, GEAR
UNIFORM

All Junior Surf participants must wear the Wainui Club Cap and Hi Vis Vest during Junior Surf Sessions.
Wainui SLSC swimwear is the choice for local Junior carnivals and is a required as team uniform for the NZ Oceans Compeitition.

The club also has a number of other garments available to show your support, wear it with pride! 

OCEANS 

Oceans is the celebration of all that is Under 14 in surf lifesaving as our juniors compete for fun and glory against their friends and fellow athletes at the annual NZ Junior National Surf Lifesaving carnival held at Mt Maunganui.

Oceans 19 will be held from Thursday 7 March to Sunday 10 March 2019.

USE OF GEAR

As a Club Wainui members work hard to maintain the condition of and fundraise for our equipment. It is essential that we respect and take responsibility for all gear used.
If you notice any damage to any equipment please report it to a Junior Surf Crew member and we will ensure that it is fixed and safe to use. 

Some principles that must be adhered to regarding use of club gear includes:

  • You must have your 200M qualification to use any board
  • Don’t use damaged equipment and check for damage prior to use
  • Report any damaged equipment to your coaches immediately
  • Never stack boards on top of each other
  • Always carry boards (don’t drag!) and no surfing onto the beach
  • Soft boards for use of U12 only unless permission given
  • Allocated fibreglass boards only to be used as allocated by the coaches
  • General use boards are marked and can be used by any qualified member or assisting parent
  • Always wash gear and put away tidily